Team Tardi wins bronze at Canada Winter Games

By Ellie Lambert

Team Tardi has become the first BC Men’s curling team to win a medal at the Canada Winter Games since 1999.

The rink, which hails from Surrey, Fort St John, Coquitlam and Victoria, beat Saskatchewan 11-2 to win the bronze medal game.

The last time the BC Men won a medal was in 1999 when Brad Kuhn’s team took home the silver, they then went on to win the World Junior crown in 2000.

Team Tardi began their Canada Winter Games campaign in emphatic style when they won all five of their round robin games. Unfortunately, they lost to Manitoba 6-5 in a very close semi-final game before bouncing back for their bronze medal victory.

Skip Tyler, third Sterling Middleton, second Nicholas Umbach and lead Timothy Henderson, led the game from the start after picking up a deuce in the first end and stole singles in the second and third before delivering a game-deciding blow in the sixth when they got a five-ender.

Speaking about competing at the Games, Tardi said: “It was a big honour to play the sport I love, representing my province on home soil. The atmosphere in Prince George was incredible – it reminded me of when I went to the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

“Even though the semi-final outcome wasn’t what we had hoped, it was a huge honour to win a medal in our home province.”

It is now the BC Women’s turn to take to the ice and Team Daniels has made a strong start to their campaign beating Nunavut 10-3 in the opening game.

The team of skip Sarah, third Dezaray Hawes, second Cierra Fisher and lead Sydney Hofer, will now play six other games in their pool before hopefully progressing to the knock-out games which take place on Friday.

You can watch Team Daniels’ games online at 10am on Tuesday, February 24 and 9am on Thursday, February 26, they are being webcast here The gold medal game will also be broadcast (tape-delayed) at 7.30pm on Saturday, February 28 on TSN2.



Wes Craig and Sandra Jenkins take 2015 BC Seniors titles

By Ellie Lambert

Teams from Victoria and Salmon Arm will represent the province at the nationals after winning the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships.

Victoria’s Wes Craig retained the title he claimed last year, whilst Sandra Jenkins, who won the Women’s event as a third in 2014, skipped her team to success at Alberni Valley Curling Club.

The two teams topped their round-robin group and qualified automatically for the final but it was an extremely close Championships. In both the Men’s and Women’s event there was a four-way tie at the top of the group so playoff places were decided by the cumulative results of the last stone draws throughout the week.

Team Craig, which is rounded out by Scott MacDonald at third, Tony Anslow as second and Lindsay Cheetham at lead, and coached by Roz Craig, defeated Team Greig of Richmond 8-3 to take the Men’s title. The Islanders got off to a strong start in the final with a single and then a steal of three which Greig was unable to come back from.

Skip Sandy Greig, and his team of third Don Wakefield, second Wayne Hogaboam and lead Mike Freeman, had beaten Team Dunkin 9-4 earlier in the day to secure their place in the final.

The Salmon Arm rink of Jenkins, third Kate Horne, second Wendy Cseke and lead Carol Murray, and coach Darryl Horne, punched their ticket to nationals when they beat Team Noble 5-4. After a close opening five ends in which each team took two singles, Jenkins jumped into the lead with a three ender in the sixth and, despite a deuce by Noble in the seventh, took the title.

The Qualicum rink of Lynne Noble, third Donna Langlands, second Crystal Murray, lead Shirley Wong and fifth Lorraine Jeffries, had beaten Team Smiley earlier in the day to book their berth in the final.

The bronze medal in the Men’s event was awarded to Team Dunkin, from North Shore Winter Club, with Paul Dunkin as skip, Mickey Bishop at third, Rob Gardner at second and Jurgen Wolter at lead, and the Women’s bronze medallists were Team Smiley, from Royal City Curling Club, with Kathy Smiley as skip, Kerri Miller as third, Debbie Pulak as second and Laurie Shimizu at lead.

To see the results of all the draws at Alberni Valley Curling Club, visit

The 2015 Canadian Senior Curling Championships take place at the Thistle Curling Club in Edmonton from March 21-28, 2015.



Team Megan Smith Competes at Canada Winter Games

By kerr


The Megan Smith rink (Sudbury CC) will represent Ontario at the Canada Winter Games starting Sunday February 23rd. The Smith rink (Smith, Kira Brunton, Mikaela Cheslock, Emma Johnson, Coach Chris Johnson) earned the right to represent Ontario by winning gold at the Ontario Winter Games last February. Good Luck to Team Smith!!